Our 7th Biennial Conference held in Lausanne


The ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance Biennial Conference was held in Lausanne from 4 to 6 July 2018, and thanks to all our colleagues in the University of Lausanne and Lausanne Tourism (led by Martino Maggetti and Yannis Papadopoulos) we had a wonderful event. This biennial conference was the flagship event of our Standing Group and is widely appreciated as an excellent place to present and get feedback on research and to meet colleagues from all over the world. It was a successful event with many interesting papers and panels. The full Programme is available here. For more information about the event please visit:



Professor Aseem Prakash has been elected winner of the Standing Group Award for Regulatory Studies Development for recognizing contributions to the field of regulatory governance by senior scholars. He succeeds 2016 winner Julia Black. The 2018 Majone Prize was awarded to Janina Grabs for the paper “The Effectiveness of Private Sustainability Governance: A Micro-Institutional Approach.”



We encourage all supporters of the Standing Group to formally join up through the ECPR Website - https://ecpr.eu/default.aspx as this ensures that you will receive news of Standing Group activities, publications, and be able to vote in elections (see below) etc. Go to the JoinECPR or Login (if already registered on the website) tabs and follow instructions and then find us listed amongst the Standing Groups.


Whilst our next biennial conference will be in 2020, our colleagues in the Chinese University of Hong Kong will be hosting "Unpacking the Complexity of Regulatory Governance in a Globalizing World: An International Conference to inaugurate a Global Regulatory Governance Research Network, scheduled for 4-6 July 2019". Put this in the diaries now. Details to follow soon.