About Us

About the Standing Group. Who we are


The study of regulation and regulatory governance is attracting an increasing attention in the field of political science. The standing group was founded in March 2005 by David Levi-Faur, Hebrew University,and Jacint Jordana, Pompeu Fabra University. The group's founding members and those who joined it subsequently believe that the study of regulation & governance is increasingly important topic in the social sciences.

The aim of our group is to provide a platform and infrastructure for encouraging studies in this area and the creation of an institutional arena for mutual interaction and debate. We aim to bring together a broad range of scholars working on (various aspects) of 'regulatory governance' in all parts of the world, including scholars from fields such as law, economics, sociology, criminology, (social) psychology and history for a fruitful exchange of ideas and knowledge on regulatory governance. However, as a Standing Group of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), the main focus of the group will be on the political aspects of regulation. We believe in openness and pluralism and intend to open the group not only for different disciplines but to different theoretical perspective and to variety of methodological approaches.




Professor Colin Scott is Principal of the College of Social Sciences and Law and Professor of EU Regulation & Governance at UCD. He was Dean of UCD Sutherland School of Law between 2011 and 2014. He is a co-author of the Irish State Administration Database (2010-), and a member of the Business Law and Regulation Group at UCD Sutherland School of Law.

He has held editorial responsibilities with Legal Studies, Law & Policy and the Modern Law Review. He has undertaken research projects on telecommunications regulation, regulation of government and meta-regulation, funded by, amongst others, the UK Economic and Social Research Council, the Australian Research Council, The Leverhulme Trust, and the European Commission (Framework Programme 6).
His current research includes a study of regulatory capacity and effectiveness in Ireland (funded by IRC and the IPA) and an investigation of the legitimacy, enforcement, quality and effectiveness of transnational private regulation, jointly with colleagues at the European University Institute and Utrecht University, (funded by the Hague Institute for Internationalization of Law).

Prof Scott studied law at the London School of Economics and at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto. Prior to his appointment at UCD in 2006 he lectured at the University of Warwick and at the London School of Economics. He was Senior Fellow in Public Law in the Research School of Social Sciences at the Australian National University between 2001 and 2003 and a Professor of Law at the College of Europe, Bruges between 2006 and 2009. He was Programme Chair of ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance Biennial Conference, 'Regulation in the Age of Crisis', held in Dublin in June 2010.



Steering Committee





Previous Chairs





Previous Steering Committee members




Rules for the Governance of the Standing Group


Consult the basic rules for the governance of the Standing Group.




Founding Members


The following list of scholars supported the establishment of an ECPR standing group:  

Name Email University
Ian Bartle i.bartle at sheffield.ac.uk University of Bath
Jorgen Gronnegaard Christensen jgc at ps.au.dk University of Aarhus
Fabrizio Gilardi fabrizio.gilardi at unil.ch University of Lausanne
Martin Lodge m.lodge at lse.ac.uk London School of Economics
Susanne Lütz susanne.luetz at fernuni-hagen.de Open University of Hagen
Michael Moran michael.moran at man.ac.uk University of Manchester
Jürgen Neyer j.neyer at soz.uni-frankfurt.de University of FrankFurt
Vibeke Nilsen vln at ps.au.dk University of Aarhus
Claudio Radaelli c.radaelli at ex.ac.uk University of Exeter
Uwe Imre Serdült serduelt at pwi.unizh.ch University of Zurich
Arco Timmermans a.timmermans at utwente.nl University of Twente
David Levi-Faur levifaur at mscc.huji.ac.il Hebrew University
Jacint Jordana Casajuana jacint.jordana at upf.edu Universitat Pompeu Fabra